Back to Basics

Happy 2017, everyone. Yesterday I finished pulling all of the brake lines, then I gave the rolling chassis a power wash. 70 years has turned the old farm dirt into concrete, but she’s certainly a lot cleaner now. Thankfully there’s not a lot of rust.

I’m going to have my work cut out for me. The rear crossmember is toast and will have to be replaced.

rear-x-member

The ends of the rear frame rails and the A frame are also pretty beat up, although I may be able to recover them.

left-rear-outer-frame-rail-and-x-member  right-rear-inner-frame-rail

a-frame-inside  right-a-frame

The right rear shock mount pin must have failed at one point during her tough life. The shock was mounted with a long bolt through the support. That’ll have to go. I pulled a replacement from the frame of my parts jeep.

shock-mount-rr  shock-mount-rr-take-off

The front frame horns are in good shape, as are a few of the gussets. I think I can grind smooth the old weld in the top left gusset. The front frame rail is another matter, though.

dscn2373  dscn2376

Finally, there is a large frame patch that has me scared to see what’s underneath it.

right-outer-frame-rail  right-inner-frame-rail

Where to begin?

Leave a comment