Hood Mounting

The hood hinge mounts to the cowl with five bolts. On my late-war GPW, three of these are Sems recessed heads, 1/4 x 20 NC x 7/8″, with integral internal star washers. The other two which hold the bond strap are flat head, of the same dimension, and with the weird “scratched A” markings as seen on many other of my jeeps original bolts. These two bolts have two internal / external star washers each, one one each side of the bond strap. Finally, the bolts that hold the bond strap to the hood are 3/8 x 20 NC, 3/4 inch long, with one star washer under the bond strap. This is how the jeep came to me and how I’ll keep her.

There is lateral adjustment capability built into the mounting system. In my case I first pushed the hood all the way over to the passenger’s side, and this is reflected in the photos below. I then moved it fully to the left so that the center seam is in the middle and there’s nearly equal gaps on each side. This, however, causes one of the canvas top fasteners to strike the driver’s side hood block. I’ll have to figure this out.

I frequently drive with the windshield down. Here’s the fitment.

Leave a comment