Reproduction (?) M2 Decontaminator

I picked up this Fyr Fyter M2 Decontaminator from a fellow G503 forum member. It came with an original bracket for $150 and, seriously, I couldn’t be happier with the deal.

This M2 has an inlet chain and decal rather than brass tag. Originals came with and without the chain and decal, so all of this is fine.

This unit and bracket are not likely to be an original WW2 M2, however. It’s more likely that this is actually a 1.5 quart Fyr Fyter fire extinguisher, repainted and decaled to look like the original. Here’s an excellent G503 post from AZ Jeff about the similarities and differences between the Fyr Fyter M2 and Extinguisher. Fyr Fyter M2 vs Extinguisher.

As you can see below, my M2 does not have a slotted nozzle. Additionally, the bracket does not have the depression for the nozzle dimple and the holes for mounting to the tub are smaller.

Here’s my installation. I put the bracket though the blast cabinet, being careful to protect the rubber pads. The original flat head 10 x 32 mounting bolts in the ACM II tub are 3/8 inch and are too short. I used modern 5/8″ and they fit perfectly. I also used friction tape to protect the M2 from being scratched by the bracket strap. Overall, I’m very happy with this addition to my GPW.

Leave a comment