WeeBee GPW Canvas Summer Top

I like to purchase all of my canvas from Dave and Donna Pizzoferrato at WeeBee Webbing. http://www.odcloth.com/products.html. They produce the finest American-made canvas you can purchase, period. The canvas weave, weight, color, and smell are a near-perfect match to WW2 originals. The cut, edging, stitching, fit and hardware are excellent.

I purchased my summer top back in 2012 and it has held up well, despite the bird poop. Dave included C-clips at the end of the straps rather than the incorrect D-clips which are often seen. The top is sewn to GPW specs, with three panels / two seams running the length, and it has the sewn hole to allow the jerry can strap to pass through.

Here it is installed on my GPW without cinching and with the rear bow in the pocket. I was worried about the fit after restoration as I have a different windshield, with a new, thicker windshield-to-cowl seal, but all original top bows, brackets, etc. Turns out I did have something to worry about. The new windshield arms have a significantly reduced radius, or curvature, meaning the top of the windshield sits about an inch further towards the rear. This then has compromised the fit of the top. Bummer.

One fix is to heat up the arms to cherry red, then fit a pipe over the end of the arms and bend them into a tighter radius. I have a number of jeeping friends who have done this. Another option is to thicken the rubber cowl seal, and this is what I have done. I purchased 1/4″ thick, 1″ wide Buna-N rubber sheet with adhesive strips from McMaster-Carr. It fits perfectly under the stock cowl seal, and the adhesive strips hold it securely. This addition has elevated the windshield and it’s nearly invisible from the front and rear.

Here’s how she came out. The top still requires a firm cinch at the rear, and the top bow is slightly out of the pocket, but she’s taught and stable.

As far as I know, WW2 factory GPW tops did not come with stencils, such as part numbers and Ford logos. One tends to see a lot of these wild, large stencils at jeep events, however. Not a good look, in my humble opinion.

I love how the rear sides display the characteristic folds, a hallmark of WW2 jeep summer tops.

Dave and Donna made my top as close to GPW spec as possible. For me, when you consider the price and all of the little details, WeeBee makes the finest canvas. I wholeheartedly recommend their products.

Leave a comment